top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaboom Editors

Masicka, Sean Paul, Teejay, Burna Boy, and Popcaan Among IRAWMA Nominees

150 nominees across 39 categories were announced for the 41st prestigious event. Noteworthy mentions include nods for Valiant, Spice, and Dexta Daps

Masicka, receiving 7 nods (Photo: Tejano Taylor)

The nominees for the 41st International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) were unveiled during an esteemed event on Thursday, January 25th, at the Chateau Mar Golf Resort in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. A total of 50 nominees were announced, encompassing 39 categories.

Dancehall stars such as Masicka, Sean Paul, and Teejay, each receiving 7 nods. Byron Messia, Burna Boy, and Popcaan secured 5 nominations, while Dexta Daps, Spice, and Valiant earned 4 nods. The list of leading nominees for the 41st IRAWMA also includes Beenie Man, Chronic Law, Koffee, D'Angel, Mavado, Davido, 450 & Pablo YG, each with 3 nominations.

Valiant, Will he win a prestigious award? (Photo: Tejano Taylor)

Dr. Ephraim Martin, President & Producer of IRAWMA, who is celebrating his Golden 50th Anniversary in media, entertainment, and activism, said "This is our eighth hosting of IRAWMA here in South Florida, and following the success of our milestone IRAWMA in Jamaica last year, and by the request of the people here in Florida, Martin’s International is happy to say we are back! We have for over forty consecutive years, served as the only organization, honoring the best of reggae and world music’s best throughout the globe. We intend to uphold the integrity of IRAWMA by giving honors only where honors are due without compromise. This year we will be bestowing special honors to more than ten members of the music industry and/or to social justice activism." Martin stated.

The much-anticipated IRAWMA event, adorned with star-studded glamour, is set to unfold on Friday, March 22, 2024, at the prestigious Lauderhill Performing Art Center (LPAC), Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Among the announcers revealing the nominees and special honorees were Ephraim, Copeland Forbes, Freddy McGregor, Honorable, Tullah Carter, Sharon Wiles, and others.

"For the enhancement of reggae, world music, health advocacy, and our social justice activities we need the support of the music industry, other businesses, and individuals to become supporting partners, category sponsors, and/or to make a tax-deductible donation to enhance the level of production, keep IRAWMA strong, and for the fortification of reggae and world music globally,” President, Martin added.

Freddy Mcgregor, received an honorary award from Red Stripe (Photo: Jamar Cleary)

Visit to see the nominees and special honorees, vote for the best of 2023 and secure tickets for the Awards showcase.


bottom of page